can one find transcendence in homemade mozzarella?

Made fresh mozzarella yesterday, from scratch. One gallon of organic milk, 1 1/2 tsp. of citric acid, 1/4 of a tablet of rennet, some salt.

We had pizza margherita yesterday as an afternoon snack.

This morning I toasted a piece of sourdough bread, put a “wedge,” okay, a blob, of fresh mozzarella on the plate next to it, and sliced about 6 grape tomatoes in half and ate it all for breakfast.

It was delicious.

But we can’t find transcendence from food. It is, in fact, exactly the opposite, if what we are talking about is trying to transcend the body and our external circumstances.

So I suppose that also rules out the antiquing that Husband and I did today, especially since the only “result” was that we both ended up with allergy headaches from all the dust and must and mold in the air.

I did finally get to see what “Bakelite” was. Well, actually, I still don’t know what it is, but I know now what it looks like (the pictures are all blurry; I don’t know why. Maybe it was the 7th and 8th shots of espresso I had before we left):

What is "Bakelite" exactly? Does anybody know?

What is “Bakelite” exactly? Does anybody know?

And got to ponder the likelihood of spending $10 for a Barbie-house sized red plastic sofa (more valuable than a “couch” I suppose):

It is red.

It is red.

And to gaze upon a glass platter full of virgin Mary’s:

plateofvirginmary's

I guess the best part is Husband’s new car has separate temperature controls for each side of the car:

And seat warmers. . .

And seat warmers. . .

So: surreal, and comfortable, but transcendent?

(I’m thinking.)

Actually, this:

We played Rummikub with Only Daughter and Stepson, and I wasn’t a poor sport. Not even once.

Sorry, it’s the best I can do.

 

3 thoughts on “can one find transcendence in homemade mozzarella?

  1. OK, having said I didn’t think I’d be making any comments on this blog, I’m already making a liar of myself. In my defense, however, the reason I’m writing is to say that what I want to write does not belong here!

    This morning I had what will surely be the best, most contented experience of the next 7 days. I know this, because nearly every week is the same. I was sitting in my car in an empty car-park at 07:10, having had a longish run through the empty Sydney streets from 3 to 5 am and now feeling a little tired but not exhausted. I have a good quality coffee in one hand, a fruit bun still warm from the oven in the other hand, a cantata by J.S. Bach is playing on the radio, and I’m reading a good book.

    Bliss! But as you say, not transcendence. I reckon that’s the best I’ll be able to manage.

    Well, there was one other element which changes the story slightly. While sitting in the car I read an entry by my favorite blogger that also had a physical effect – it warmed my heart.

  2. Hey, if I can search for transcendence through mozzarella cheese and behaving like an adult while playing a board game, you can definitely use the afterglow of a good run, a great cup of coffee, fruit buns, and Bach. Yours is probably even more suitable a route than mine. And I do, actually, believe we can use actual experience to find the route — we just need to remember how it felt, what we were (or were not) thinking, and try to stay there.

    And I am honored to be your favorite blogger. That warms MY heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

