but maybe for just a minute more?

MorleyOneMinute

(If you click on the picture once it will take you to Morley’s blog; if you click on the picture again there it will zoom in so you can read it all more easily.)

I don’t know, maybe I’m greedy. Maybe there’s something wrong with me. I need too much external validation; I always want more than just that one minute.

. . .What kind of paradise am I looking for?
I’ve got everything I want and still I want more;
Maybe some tiny, shiny key will wash up on the shore. . .

6 thoughts on “but maybe for just a minute more?

  1. I clicked. I zoomed. I read. I thought for a while.
    But then I had to put the garbage out; and get yesterday’s washing out of the drier; and wash the dishes; and deal with my mother’s lawyer. Maybe tomorrow I’ll have time to have another look and might be able to say something sensible. . . . but don’t count on it.

    • I actually find you to be usually quite sensible.
      And yes, the business of living often gets in the way of the life of the mind, doesn’t it?
      Was surprised to see that you have “20 minutes a day” to read. I guess that is often true for me, but it seems like so little. I actually think I need one of those Tshirts that say “So Many Books So Little Time”

  2. So, you want too much external validation, eh? Hmmm. I agree that this is a significant issue. A very significant one, actually. I’m no philosopher or theologian, but it seems to me that this is a fundamental question at the heart of a lot of religious discussion. For many ‘religious’ people it seems that the external validation is via comparison to a set of laws or prescriptions about correct behaviour…what we’re inclined to call fundamentalism now? On the other hand, I reckon that, to his credit 🙂 , Jesus talked about the complete opposite of that – acceptance and validation just because you are. And demonstrating that concept in relationships – viz, unconditional love. Anyway, as I said, I’m not an expert on what people have said. But this concept appeals to me. What remains a bit of a mystery is how to really feel that feeling of acceptance in my heart.

  3. That may all be true, but my need for external validation is nowhere near that profound. I just want(need) lots and lots and lots of pats on the head, “good-job”s, high fives, reminders that people love me, und so weiter. I would like my sense of accomplishment (and that of joy, peace, contentment, self- and world-acceptance) to come more from within than from without; but I fear I am a “victim” of my birth order, and no matter how hard I try I can’t seem to free myself from its effects.

    • Birth order victim? Yeah, I can understand that. And it probably means that by the time you went to school you were inextricably locked into modes of behaviour that are now impossible to cast off. And now that ranting about the unfairness of your upbringing to your parents is pretty much ruled out, your options are limited. I suppose there are all sorts of ‘therapies’ designed to overcome this historical burden, but I don’t know if they’re any good. Probably not. Well, there’s always Ani. Hit the endless-repeat button.

Leave a Reply

