what makes a life

“Ordinary moments make the life. This was what [my mother] knew to be trustworthy, and this is what I learned, eventually, from those years we spent together. No leaps or falls. I inhale the little drizzly details of the past, and know who I am. What I failed to know before is clearer now, filtered up through time, an experience belonging to no one else, not remotely, no one, anyone, ever. I watch her use the roller to remove lint from her cloth coat. Define ‘lint,’ I tell myself. Define ‘time,’ define ‘space.'”

~Don DeLillo, Sine, cosine, tangent, “New Yorker,” February 22, 2016

Leave a Reply

